Artist Research Bursary Programme August 2021- March 2022

Recipients of the Artist Research Bursary awards

By Laura Fisher on 17.08.21

With the gradual easing of COVID-19 restrictions, we have recently welcomed artists back into The Work Room (TWR) studio. Alongside our Core Studio Residency programme, we are supporting a second programme of Artist Research Bursaries, recognising that the pandemic continues to create barriers to returning to studio practice for some, as well as heightening existing barriers for others.


Through these bursary awards, we are happy to support ten members with flexible, remote research time to sustain and deepen their artistic practice in these uncertain times, with priority given to members who currently experience barriers to returning to studio practice.

Artist Research Bursaries have been awarded to members:

Francesca Till, Hamshya Rajkumar, Jusztina Hermann, Laura Bradshaw, Lucy Suggate, Mark Bleakley, Niamh O'Loughlin, Oxana Banchshikova & Kirsten Newell, and Paula Davidson.


The bursaries support members to engage in a wide range of self-initiated research activities and projects, including; periods of reflection on previous projects, developing new methodologies for sharing practice, connecting with collaborators, deepening explorations of practice in domestic and outdoor spaces, and furthering ongoing or new research ideas. The research activity will take place flexibly between August 2021 and March 2022, at the pace and timeline of each member and project.

We are delighted to be able to support an expansive range of practices and research proposals through these bursaries. We look forward to seeing how each artist approaches their enquiries and any outcomes they share from their time. The Work Room also looks forward to developing our understanding and approaches to supporting members with remote opportunities.  


The Work Room is grateful for the financial support from Jerwood Arts’ Commissioning for the Future Fund which has enabled us to extend this programme of Artists Research Bursaries. 


The selection process was carried out by TWR members Amy Rosa McLachlan, Clarinda Tse, Laura Gonzalez and Monika Smekot, chaired by Anita Clark. They undertook a challenging job, bringing a high level of care and consideration to the decision-making process, for which we extend our thanks to them all for.

We are conscious of the stressful conditions created by the ongoing pandemic situation, and the uncertainty and challenges facing independent artists at this time. We are grateful for the time and consideration that went into all of the proposals we received.


Read more about the research each member will undertake, over on their residency pages, links below:

View All News